Level 3, Defens Haus, Cnr Champion Pde & Hunter St, Port Moresby, PNG
Maritime Emergency (675) 305 4631

Community Engagement - Papua New Guinea National Maritime Safety Authority

The responsibility of the Community Development Department is to administer the Community Engagement Program and the Community-Based Security and Maintenance of the Lights Program with identified maritime lighthouse communities throughout the country. The role of the Department is to coordinate support from the provincial, district and community levels to ensure an effective network of maritime aids to navigation (Lighthouses) for safety of international and domestic shipping vessels and similarly, for safety of small craft throughout PNG waters.

The functions of the Community Development Department within the maritime administration is to:

  • maintain consultation and consolidation of partnerships at the provincial, district and community level to ensure support on the installation and/or upkeep of maritime aids to navigation (Lighthouses);
  • setting up of Community Lighthouse Committees to coordinate security, and provide monitoring and reporting on the operation of these lights;
  • facilitate proper land acquisition for lease or purchase of lighthouse sites through the Department of Lands and Physical Planning or the Provincial Lands Divisions;
  • identify potential disputed sites and liaise with relevant land dispute and settlement authorities to amicably resolve disputes;
  • Administering and monitoring Agreements with the Community Lighthouse Committees and landowners;
  • raising awareness on the functions of the NMSA at the provincial and community level and;
  • facilitation of community development initiatives for lighthouse communities.


National Maritime Safety Authority (NMSA) commenced discussions with the Chiefs of Sipaa, Pokpok, Pidia, Kieta, Sisirai and Uruuna villages, the Council of Elders and the Kieta District Administration on its intention to restore lights within the Kieta Passage which led to the restoration of Kieta Harbour (Tabaring), Banaru (Bana’avi) Reef, Moto (Modo) Reef and Wogoromodo (Pangkara Domoto) Reef Lights in late 2015.

A Community Lighthouse Committee (CLC), comprising selected representatives of all six villages, was established and with funds which were part of payments made by NMSA for security and monitoring of lights the CLC assisted Uruuna Primary School build kitchens for their teaching staff.

In December 2016, the teacher’s kitchens were finally completed.

What's New?

About NMSA